Pre-Training Workouts

Marathon training does not actually kick off until the first weekend of September. At that point, I need to be able to complete the first long run (6 miles) comfortably. For the last few months, I have completed a couple of runs a week and in the last few weeks, I have upped that to 3-4 runs a week (when possible). Last week I started adding a ‘Long Run Saturday’ to the mix to help prepare myself of the training period. While my pace is not where I like it, it is very hot out so I am hopeful with cooler weather my (slightly) quicker pace will return.

Here’s a rundown of last week and this week’s workouts and my expected workouts for the remainder of this week. Apparently I only took pics on snapchat, but I will make an effort to post pics next week!

Last Week:

Tuesday: 3 miles

Wednesday: 4 rounds of: run 400m, 15 burpees (completed at home)

Thursday:

  • 7 minute AMRAP (as many rounds as possible) of: 7 deadlifts, 14 goblet squats (squats holding a kettle bell), 42 jump ropes
  • 20 minutes on the bike

Saturday: 5 miles

This Week:

Sunday: birthday workout with Tyler- wall balls, snatches and jump ropes

Monday: 2 miles

Wednesday: 3 rounds of: 21 cals on rower, 21 kettle bell swings

Thursday: 2 miles then 20 lunges and 20 air squats

Friday: 6 miles OR CrossFit

Saturday: 6 miles OR CrossFit

Orientation for school is on Monday followed by classes starting Wednesday! I’m excited and nervous to get this journey started!

Leave a Reply

