Weekly Meal Plans

 

I began craving normalcy in eating as soon as I got home from Disney. For Tyler and I, normal means mostly paleo meals (no rice and beans are not paleo, but yes we eat them). We found that throughout the fall semester, we were not planning properly for meals which resulted in too many meals from restaurants and spending more than intended on food. Additionally, I was extra hungry from all the running in my training and often made questionable carb loading decisions.

Starting the day after I got home from the race, I began my old method of planning each dinner for the week prior to going to the grocery store. This time I began typing out all my meal planning instead of scribbling on a random piece of paper. I started sending them to friends and classmates when talking about meal planning and last week a classmate said “you should start a blog and share these”. I already have a blog! Of course I should share with others!

For reference, I’m including what I typically eat for breakfast and lunch each day as well. Thankfully, I do eat all three meals at home MWF and the weekends (unless we go out with friends). I started making a couple cups of rice at the beginning of the week so it will be available and already cooked for any meals we want/need it for. We don’t always add rice to these dishes, but have the option to depending on how much I ran or Tyler crossfitted (not a word) that day.

With our further ado, here’s what we will be eating this week!

Monday- Stuffed Peppers

  • Lean ground meat
  • Rice
  • Tomato sauce
  • Bell peppers (4)
  • Cheese (just a little for the top)
  • Cajun seasoning

Tuesday- Chicken Taco Bowls (crockpot)

  • Chicken*
  • Rotel*
  • Taco seasoning*
  • Black beans
  • Rice
  • Avocado
  • Salsa

*These three go in the crockpot with some water and cook all day on low then take out all the other toppings (already prepped) and build the bowl!

Wednesday- Shrimp Stir Fry

  • Shrimp
  • Mixed veg
  • Broccoli
  • Soy sauce
  • Rice*

*We usually keep the rice separate in case one or both of us aren’t feeling rice that night.

Thursday- Crockpot BBQ pulled pork

  • Pork
  • Bbq sauce
  • Beef broth
  • Rice*

*We usually keep the rice separate in case one or both of us aren’t feeling rice that night.

Friday- Breakfast

  • Eggs
  • Bacon
  • Paleo pancakes/waffles

Saturday/Sunday

  • Whole roasted chicken for salads, etc.*

*We will eat this for lunch/dinner in different ways over the weekend.

Breakfast

I eat eggs every morning except Tuesdays. Usually it’s 2 eggs over easy with some sautéed spinach or kale, or sometimes just the eggs. Tuesday mornings I have to be in NOLA for 9am class, so I make overnight oats to eat in class. All breakfasts are served with coffee.

Lunch

Lunch is typically salad with leftover protein, eggs or deli meat. Salad always has a spinach mix with tomatoes, cucumbers and celery with a clean dressing.

Snacks

I’m at school all day on Tuesday/Thursdays, so snacks are necessary. I usually bring an apple, pear or banana and a Lara bar to eat before my last class/on the way home. Sometimes I bring almond butter to eat with the fruit or with celery or a boiled egg to eat on the way home, depending on what I’m craving that day.

 

Training

Yes, I am training again! After the long runs I just experienced, this doesn’t really feel like training (in a good way) but I will be doing the Zydeco Half in Lafayette on March 12th. This will be my 4th year doing Zydeco and highly recommend it! I did 9 miles on Saturday and felt good until after the run when my feet started giving me trouble again. I have the Mardi Gras Mambo 10k this Saturday and am hoping for a PR!

Leave a Reply

