Weekly Meal Plan and Race Prep

Happy March! I can’t believe we are already on month three of 2017. Time flies so quickly.

This week’s meal plan is below. We are leaving the weekend open for plans that may come up since Tyler has a race Saturday morning, I have a baby shower to attend Saturday and I am running the 4th annual Zydeco Half Marathon in Lafayette Sunday morning.

Monday- Chicken burrito bowls

  • Guacamole
  • Salsa
  • Rice
  • Black beans

Tuesday- Pork Roast

  • Roasted sweet potatoes
  • Spinach salad

Wednesday- BBQ Chicken

  • Roasted sweet potatoes
  • Broccoli

Thursday- Leftovers

Friday- Breakfast

  • Eggs
  • Bacon
  • Toast

Weekend- Eating out or Steaks

  • We have steaks in our freezer we can cook, depending on our plans

 

Race Week Prep

I have completed the Zydeco Half since they started the race in 2014 and am excited to run it again this year. This is the race course that holds my current half marathon PR and I am hoping to make a new PR this year! To prep for this weekend’s race, I am doing two (maybe three) short runs and a few yoga classes this week to make sure I feel stretched out and mentally prepared for the run. I struggle with remaining in the comfort zone when running long-distance instead of pushing myself to a new PR, so I am hoping to step up my mental game this weekend and push to a new record.

I was thinking about it last weekend and can’t believe this will be my 7th half marathon and my 2nd in the last two weeks! I vividly remember mile 12 of my first half marathon. I looked at my friend Caroline and said “I will NEVER do this again”. Of course later that day, while icing my legs, I was already researching to find my next race. Likewise, a couple of years ago I decided I was “done” with regular long distance running and would stick to only doing the Zydeco half each year. The next year (2016), I crushed my previous PR, signed up for a full marathon weeks later and have completed two more halfs and a full since then. It’s funny how what you once thought was impossible, or extremely difficult, becomes the thing you crave and strive to complete.

 

Leave a comment